Saturday, June 12, 2010
On vSphere4, when you scan a host (ESX or ESXi) for updates, you'll see a task "reconfigure cluster" appear automatically. Ever wondered what that task does ? The "tasks & events" tab doesn't give you any clues, but if you happen to be looking at the "DRS" pane while the task is running, you'll see it: scanning a host in a cluster, automatically disables DPM for the duration of the scan. My guess is that this is to prevent DPM from putting a host in standby mode while it is being scanned.